IPL- The game Changing Tournament in the world.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India, which was established in 2008. The IPL has become one of the most popular and lucrative cricket leagues in the world, featuring some of the best players from around the globe. Here’s a brief history of the IPL:
• The IPL was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007, with the first season held in 2008.
• The league originally featured eight teams: Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Deccan Chargers (now defunct).
• The inaugural season of the IPL was won by the Rajasthan Royals, who defeated the Chennai Super Kings in the final.
• The IPL has since expanded to include a total of ten teams, with the addition of the Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala (both now defunct) in 2011, and the Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants (both now defunct) in 2016 and 2017, respectively.
• The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in IPL history, having won the tournament a record five times (in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020).
• The Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have both won the tournament twice, while the Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won it once each.
• The IPL has been played in several countries, including India, South Africa, and the UAE.
• The IPL has faced controversy over the years, including allegations of corruption and match-fixing, which have resulted in the suspension of several players and officials.
• The IPL has also been impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, with the 2020 season being delayed and played in the UAE, and the 2021 season being played in India but with strict biosecurity protocols in place.

Brief History of the Indian Premier League…Contd.

Follow Virat Kohli